Personnel

Ramadan Abdelrehim (PhD – current)

I am conducting groundwater exploration research in arid environments using various geophysical and remote sensing techniques. I’m currently using the SWAT model to calibrate stream flow, sediments, and nutrient discharge in Baffin Bay, Texas.

Email: rabdelrehim@islander.tamucc.edu


Mandy Beattie (MS – current)

I’m using gravity and InSAR techniques to quantify land subsidence rates in coastal Texas.

Email: abeattie@islander.tamucc.edu


Muhamed Elshalkany (MS – current)

My current research activities involve the use of geophysical data (seismic, GPR, resistivity, and remote sensing data) to develop sustainable groundwater resources in the Saint Catherine area, Sinai, Egypt.

Email: melshalkany@islander.tamucc.edu


Meghan Bygate (Undergraduate – current)

Using satellite data, I am developing Oyster Growth Suitability Index maps for Matagorda Bay, Texas. Landsat 8 and ECOSTRESS data will be utilized to establish locations where average environmental parameters are considered optimal for oyster population growth.  

Email: mbygate@islander.tamucc.edu


Dionel “Don” Colmenero (MS – current)

I am studying the subsurface geology of Padre island using GPR and Electrical Resistivity to characterize the lithological packages observed in a barrier island facies.

Email: dcolmenero1@islander.tamucc.edu


Ryan Turner (MS – graduated)

I am conducting research on faults control on oil/gas reservoirs spacial distribution and quality within the lower Oligocene Vicksburg formation. Intervals V-14 to V-20 are being explored using a 3D seismic dataset, 98 well logs, velocity surveys, and formation tests.

Email: rturner@islander.tamucc.edu


Michael Haley (MS – graduated)


I am studying subsidence rate in south Texas. Using sentinel data in SARscape to create a subsidence displacement velocity map of the Coastal Bend.

Email: Mhaley@islander.tamucc.edu


Tejaswini Penchala (MS – graduated)

Email: tpenchala@islander.tamucc.edu